Plenary speakers

Yuri Kivshar

Yuri S. Kivshar received his PhD degree in 1984 from the Institute for Low Temperature Physics and Engineering, Kharkov, Ukraine. From 1988 to 1993 he worked at different research centres in USA, France, Spain, and Germany, and from 1993 he joined the Australian National University (ANU) where he established the Nonlinear Physics Center and being currently ANU Distinguished Professor and Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science. His research interests include nonlinear physics and solitons, nonlinear optics, plasmonics, and metamaterials. He has authored and co-authored more than 700 papers. He is a Fellow of the Optical Society of America, the American Physical Society, and the Institute of Physics (UK), and Deputy Director of the Centre of Excellence for Ultrahigh-bandwidth Devices for Optical Systems (CUDOS). He has received many awards including the Pnevmatikos Prize in Nonlinear Science and the Lyle Medal of the Australian Academy of Science.

Nader Engheta

Nader Engheta is the H. Nedwill Ramsey Professor at the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia, with affiliations in the Departments of Electrical and Systems Engineering, Bioengineering, Physics and Astronomy, and Materials Science and Engineering.  He received his B.S. degree from the University of Tehran, and his M.S and Ph.D. degrees from Caltech.  Selected as one of the Scientific American Magazine 50 Leaders in Science and Technology in 2006 for developing the concept of optical lumped nanocircuits, he is a Guggenheim Fellow, an IEEE Third Millennium Medalist, a Fellow of IEEE, American Physical Society (APS), Optical Society of America (OSA), American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), and SPIE-The International Society for Optical Engineering, and the recipient of numerous awards for his research including 2013 Benjamin Franklin Key Award, 2013 Inaugural SINA Award in Engineering, 2012 IEEE Electromagnetics Award, 2008 George H. Heilmeier Award for Excellence in Research, the Fulbright Naples Chair Award, NSF Presidential Young Investigator award, the UPS Foundation Distinguished Educator term Chair, and several teaching awards including the Christian F. and Mary R. Lindback Foundation Award, S. Reid Warren, Jr. Award and W. M. Keck Foundation Award.  His current research activities span a broad range of areas including metamaterials, nanophotonics, graphene optics, imaging and sensing inspired by eyes of animal species, optical nanoengineering, microwave and optical antennas, and engineering and physics of fields and waves.  He has co-edited (with R. W. Ziolkowski) the book entitled “Metamaterials:  Physics and Engineering Explorations” by Wiley-IEEE Press, 2006.  He was the Chair of the Gordon Research Conference on Plasmonics in June 2012.

Javier Garcia de Abajo

Javier García de Abajo is ICREA Research Professor and group leader at ICFO, Spain. His main interests are plasmons in nanostructures, the optical response of patterned surfaces, including graphene, and the interaction of swift electrons with nanostructured materials. He is a Fellow of the APS and the OSA and serves as Deputy Editor for Optics Express.

Login Form